Ordinary differential equations and dynamical systems

Principal investigator:

Luís Sanchez Rodrigues

 

Alessandro Margheri         amargheri@fc.ul.pt

Carlota Rebelo                   mcgoncalves@fc.ul.pt

Cristina Serpa                    mcserpa@fc.ul.pt

Jorge Buescu                     jsbuescu@fc.ul.pt

Luís Sanchez Rodrigues  lfrodrigues@fc.ul.pt

Pedro Duarte                     pmduarte@fc.ul.pt

Ricardo Enguiça               rroque@adm.isel.pt

Teresa Faria                       teresa.faria@fc.ul.pt

 

Other Researchers

Ana Rute Domingos<ardomingos@fc.ul.pt>

Program “Estímulo à Investigação”, FCG [⤴]

Diogo Caetano<dlcaetano@ciencias.ulisboa.pt>

Students

Alexandre Simões<fc42019@alunos.fc.ul.pt>

Telmo Peixe<tjpeixe@fc.ul.pt>

Description of the Research Group

This group, with some variations in its configuration and name, has existed in CMAF for at least two decades.

It has joined together members with interests that may be assigned to one of the following areas:

-ordinary differential equations

-topological methods and their applications to nonlinear differential equations

-critical point theory, variational methods

-functional differential equations: delayed equations

-dynamical systems

Thus the group is concerned in particular with the qualitative theory of differential equations. A more extended list of keywords appearing in the group members' publications are: multiplicity, asymptotically linear systems, index theories, homoclinics and heteroclinics, distributed delays, global stability, travelling waves, Lyapunov exponents, persistence in epidemiological models, polygonal billiards, positive definite functions, computable dynamical systems theory.

The group has regular collaboration with researchers from universities in Portugal and abroad, namely Minho, Santiago de Compostela, Granada, Udine, Modena e Reggio Emilia, Bruxelles, Waseda, Szeged, Talca.

 

In the past, the group had precious contributions from Miguel Ramos as a member. He left an important work on variational methods applied to elliptic equations and systems. He died at 49 in January 2013.